How to: Roast Tomatoes

I love tomatoes. I have always loved tomatoes. I like them sliced, diced, broiled, or baked. Sauced, blended, and marinated. I do not, however, like tomatoes in January. They are typically bland, pale, and blah. In my Bountiful Basket the other week there were some tomatoes in there and instead of throwing them out I remembering seeing a recipe for marinara sauce using roasted tomatoes. Now to figure out how to roast them. It was easy to research tons of ways ut I wanted a very simple way with simple ingredients and here it is.

Preheat the oven to 400.

Cut the tomatoes in half and take the core out of them. Lay them out on an foil-lined pan.

012

Drizzle some olive oil over tomatoes and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

017

You want them to be nice and roasted. Sometimes mine get a little brown on top. That equals yumminess. Take the tomatoes out of the oven and you’re done.

021

Now you can use these any way you want or you can freeze them until you need them.

Now you can enjoy the goodness of using your bland tomatoes but I can’t wait until summer and I can try it out on ripe ones.

Leave a Reply

