I love soup: Roasted Tomato Basil

roasted tomato basil soup

The other day the hubby and I got a date night. Not a real date night but the grocery-shopping-while-someone-watches-our-kids date night. Either way I’ll take it. I was doing my Whole30 challenge at the time and was nervous about eating out. Luckily one of our stops was Whole Foods so we hit up the soup and salad bar. (The pizza looked amazing and so did the pasta salads but those are no-no’s right now.)

I noticed a Roasted Tomato Basil Soup and it had 4 ingredients listed. Ready for this! Tomatoes, basil, garlic and olive oil. It was so amazing. I’m not usually a cream of tomato soup person but this was unlike anything I had tried before. I knew I had to make it so I did.

In my bountiful basket this week I received a few tomatoes. I don’t know about you but I’ve never been too impressed with tomatoes in the winter.I looked at a roasted marinara awhile back and was interested in it because it talks about turning not so great tomatoes into great tomato sauce so I figured I could do it for the soup too and it worked. Yay!

Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

2 1/2 lbs. tomatoes, cut in half lengthwise (whatever you have works)

olive oil

salt and pepper

1 med onion, chopped

3-4 garlic cloves minced (Mine were huge so I used 3)

dash of red pepper flakes

1/3 c. dried basil (I wish I had had fresh basil but didn’t feel like going to the store. If you are lucky enough to have some use 1 c. fresh basil, sliced into thin ribbons.

15 oz can diced tomatoes

3 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth)

Preheat oven to 400 F. Place tomatoes on a lined cookie sheet. Drizzle 2-3 Tbs olive oil over the tomatoes and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for 45 -55 minutes maybe longer. You want them nice and roasted.

Take 2 tbs. olive oil and over med-high heat saute onions for 2-3 minutes and then add garlic and red pepper flakes and cook for another 2-3 minutes add the basil, diced tomatoes, chicken broth, and oven roasted tomatoes and simmer over med-low heat for 30 minutes. Blend with an immersion blender or a regular blender but beware of hot liquids in a blender. You may want it to cool a bit first. Taste and adjust seasoning. Serve.

* This made a lot of soup so I put some in the freezer and froze it. It was just a delicious as the day I made it!

Leave a Reply

