My Whole30 Challenge

I started my Whole30 challenge at the same time I started this blog. I figured it would be a great way to hold me accountable. Even though I have dropped the ball on the blog a bit I did not drop the ball on my Whole30 challenge.

Before the Whole30 I ate fairly paleo. I had more treats than probably necessary especially since I started in January. My eating was 50/50 for the month of November and December which is a huge improvement from previous years. There may have been a few weeks that I made almond roca (6 batches) and had a significant amount from each batch. It was delicious though but I noticed my energy sagging, my moods changing, and the slight bloated feeling come back. I had attempted a Whole30 before but left the dairy in knowing that I need it to help with my digestion but this time I wanted to go all in. What I learned from my Whole30 challenge is invaluable to me.

I learned about my relationship with food. I knew I enjoyed making treats for my family and to share with others but I didn’t find them necessary this month. I did make my jerky which felt like a treat and I dried some apples and bananas. It was nice to spend some time in the kitchen (my favorite room in my house) but it was exciting to spend more time with the kids or reading.

I learned I eat when I’m bored, happy, sad, annoyed, and hungry. Cutting down to three meals and some times an afternoon snack really helped me realize how often I was eating. I wasn’t hungry and the only thing I was missing were some of the extra calories I would get from snacking.

I learned how to listen to my body. This was huge! There were some days I would eat more because I was hungry. Sometimes I would eat less. Sometimes I need more carbs (sweet potatoes are my best friend). Sometimes I needed more protein and sometimes I just needed some water.

I was lucky because for me it wasn’t as hard as I was expecting and the benefits were great. I was hoping for more physical changes but I am learning that there are some things that can’t be undone (having kids) and that some times we just have to learn to love how we are.

I’m excited for the next step. People have been asking me what I’m going to have for my first meal after the Whole30. Honestly my cravings are gone. A couple of weeks ago it would have been frozen yogurt with candy toppings but I’m not wanting it right now so I’m not going to eat it. I finally decided to make some Pumpkin Paleo Granola as my first off meal and I am excited but I am also aware that it’s a treat and not a normal thing.

My goal is to eat pretty much how I have been on the Whole3o with the occasional fun.

If you are considering doing the Whole30 I highly recommend it. I feel great. I feel happy. I feel educated.

Leave a Reply

