Slow Cooker Kalua Pork… Yummy!

When we were first married we lived in West Jordan, Utah. My husband was a football coach and teacher at a local high school. I loved living in West Jordan because it is heavily populated with Polynesians and that means two things: Family and Great Food!

Before every home game the parents would make this huge ridiculous meal for the boys and coaches and I was luckily enough to eat some of the food. Delicious. One of my favorite things was the kalua pork. Simple but so flavorful. I had all but forgotten about it until I came a crossed it on NomNom Paleo’s website and now it is a staple. I like to make a 5-7# because we can have it so easily for leftovers. It is good on it’s own. I’ve had it with scrambled eggs. Nachos (for the kids). In soup. Breakfast burritos. It’s very versatile. Very delicious. Very easy.

Image

Slow Cooker Kalua Pork

5-7# boneless pork butt (I get mine at Costco)

Himalayan Pink Salt (NomNom uses Red Salt but I haven’t ordered it yet so… pink it is)

3-5 strips of bacon

3-5 cloves garlic (optional)

Lay the bacon on the bottom of your slow cooker. For every 1# use 3/4 tsp of salt.Sprinkle and rub salt all over your pork butt. Place cloves of garlic in the butt too. I took my knife and made holes and shoved some in. Place it your pork in the slow cooker and cook on low for 10-12 hours. Take it out of the liquid. Shred it. Drain most of the liquid it’s very salty so you don’t need a ton. Then I throw my pork back in the crock pot and serve it out of there.

 

Sides: I love this with cauliflower faux-tatoes and roasted brussel sprouts. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

